2018 DCS Teacher of the Year Winners announced

Local News

DOTHAN, Ala. (WDHN) — Thursday night, the Dothan Education Foundation honored two dozen of its own during its annual DCS Teacher of the Year awards banquet. 

“To be a teacher, it’s not a nine to five job,” said Dothan Education Foundation Executive Director Lindsey Fountain. “There’s a lot of work that’s put in. Tonight is just to honor them, their hard work and their dedication to the students.”

Honorees were nominated by their principals for their exemplary classroom techniques and service to their students and schools. 

“I know what they do,” said Dothan City Schools Superintendent Dr. Phyllis Edwards. “They carry tons of things home. They work at night. They do all kinds of things, but they are really everything to the students that they teach.”

In addition to honoring the winners from each school, the DEF awarded two overall district winners: one in elementary education and one in secondary education. 

According to Beverlye Magnet School teacher and District Secondary Teacher of the Year award winner, Megan Ford, she didn’t receive the award on her own.

“I’d be lying if I took full credit,” Ford said. “I have some very awesome children and am fortunate to have a great administration that lets me be who I need to be for these kids.”

Likewise, Hidden Lake Elementary School and District Elementary Teacher of the Year award winner, Amanda Smith, said she hopes to make her school proud as she moves forward to the state competition. 

“I know that I’m representing all the hundreds of school teachers in Dothan City Schools,” Smith said. “We have some amazing elementary teachers and I just hope that I do them justice and represent them well in representing our district.”

The Alabama Teacher of the Year winner is expected to be announced later this month. 

DCS Teacher of the Year Award Honorees:

  1. Amanda Smith (District Elementary) : Hidden Lake Elementary School
  2. Megan Ford (District Secondary): Beverlye Magnet School
  3. Kimberly Leverette: Cloverdale Elementary School
  4. Brandy Porter-McCray: Faine Elementary School
  5. Katie Skipper: Girard Elementary School
  6. Jimmy Baker: Grandview Elementary School
  7. Leah Oppert: Heard Magnet School
  8. Jacquelyn Kinney: Highlands Elementary School
  9. Leigh Lawrence: Kelly Springs Elementary School
  10. Keisha Williams: Montana Magnet School
  11. Megan Henderson: Selma Street Elementary School
  12. Allison Lindsay: Slingluff Elementary School
  13. Tonya Norris: Carver Magnet School
  14. Keyanna Cole: Girard Middle School
  15. Amory Atwell: Honeysuckle Middle School
  16. Ben Turvin: Dothan High School
  17. Jacqueline Furlong: Northview High School
  18. Tara Hooks Grant: Dothan Technology Center
  19. Tony Cockerham: PASS Academy
  20. Lacrecia Williams: Preschool

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories