Talladega Superspeedway 4-Wide notes: Kentucky Speedway Edition

Published 06/30 2014 11:09AM

Updated 06/30 2014 11:11AM

All three NASCAR series raced at Kentucky Speedway last weekend. Two-time Talladega winner Brad Keselowski cut through the competition with ease Saturday night in a dominating performance, adding his name to the list of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers with multiple wins in 2014. On Friday night Kevin Harvick drove away with his second victory of the season and his 42nd overall in the Nationwide Series. Kyle Busch pulled away from teammate Darrell Wallace Jr. on Thursday night to win the Camping World Truck Series event.
NASCAR Sprint Cup Series:

Keselowski—along with Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Carl Edwards, and Joey Logano, who all have multiple wins this season—is almost certain to secure a berth in this year’s expanded 16-driver field for the post-season Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
Keselowski and teammate Logano—who was making his 200th career Cup Series start—combined to lead all but 31 laps Saturday night.
The only other driver to lead the race was Kyle Busch who finished second followed by Ryan Newman, Matt Kenseth and Earnhardt Jr.
This week’s top five in the point standings are Jeff Gordon, Johnson and Earnhardt Jr. (tied), Keselowski and Kenseth, respectively.

NASCAR Nationwide Series:

Keselowski (who won the 2010 Aaron’s 312 Nationwide race at Talladega) also led the most laps in Friday night’s Nationwide race after starting from the pole, and then getting beaten to the finish line by almost a full second by Harvick.
Kyle Busch, Paul Menard and Ryan Blaney finished behind Harvick and Keselowski to complete the race’s top five.
Elliott Sadler takes over the points lead this week, a mere four points ahead of rookie Chase Elliott. Regan Smith’s 28th place finish moved him to third in points, followed by Ty Dillon and Brian Scott.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series:

Kyle Busch’s victory Thursday was his fifth win and fifth start of the 2014 season, giving him a perfect record this year in the Truck Series. Toyota has now won all eight races run in 2014
Alabama-native Darrell Wallace Jr., Ryan Blaney, Timothy Peters and Keselowski rounded out the race’s top five.
ThorSport Racing teammates Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton continue to hold the top two spots in the point standings and are followed by Peters, Blaney and Hornaday respectively.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series will be in Daytona for the July 4th weekend. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series has the week off.

NASCAR speeds back into Talladega Superspeedway October 17-19 for the GEICO 500 Sprint Cup Series race and fred’s 250 Powered by Coca-Cola Camping World Truck Series event. NASCAR’s Most Competitive Track (record 88 lead changes in 188 laps), with the circuit’s steepest banking (33 degrees) and longest distance (2.66 miles), is also the most fun and fan-friendly, offering up hundreds of acres of free camping, amazing kids ticket prices and special offers for military members and college students. Talladega Superspeedway is also NASCAR’s “Party Capital” thanks to the track’s infamous infield and world renowned Talladega Blvd. The historic venue has always worked hard to enhance the fan experience in every way and now features the most comfortable seats in motorsports, large video viewing boards (a new initiative planned for future implementation at all ISC tracks) lining the frontstretch and endless activities for fans throughout its event weekends.

Log on to www.talladegasuperspeedway.com or call 877-Go2-DEGA for more information. This is more than a race, this is Talladega!

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

comments powered by Disqus